PM Modi launches new BHIM app for mobile payments

Prime Minister Narendra Modi announced the launch of a UPI-based app for the public to promote digital transactions in the country. BHIM or Bharat Interface for Money app has been developed by National Payments Corporation of India (NPCI) for Android mobile phones. The app is available on Google Play. However,  the iOS mobile version of the app is already under process.

Be it a smartphone or feature phone of Rs 1,000-1,200, BHIM app can be used. There is no need to have Internet connectivity,” says PM Modi.

The Unified Payments Interface (UPI) allows users to easily make transactions without the hassles of rushing to a bank.

Till today people used to download the app of the respective bank in which they were the account holders to use the feature. However, BHIM overcomes all the issues. The app is just 2MB is size and is built keeping in mind the simplicity and ease of use.

How does it work?

Make quick mobile payments without an internet connection – BHIM

Register your bank account with BHIM, and set a UPI PIN for the bank account. Your mobile number is your payment address (PA), and you can simply start transacting. Yes! It is that simple.

Once this is done you can send or receive money to a phone number, check balance, or scan a QR code to make a payment without sharing a phone number.

PM Modi launches new BHIM app for mobile payments

There is a Rs. 10,000 per transaction limit, and Rs. 20,000 per day for BHIM. Using the BHIM app, money can also be sent to non-UPI banks through IFSC, like you do with normal net banking.

The app supports Hindi and English languages. Other languages are to be incorporated soon.

What banks support the BHIM app?

All the major banks are supported by the BHIM app – as long as the bank supports UPI, you will be able to access your money through the BHIM app.

All UPI-connected banks accept BHIM – All major Indian banks including SBI, ICICI, Axis, and HDFC. Even banks not connected to UPI can receive money through BHIM through IFSC, an 11-digit code assigned to every bank branch by the Reserve Bank of India.


Leave A Reply